february-readsIf you’ve scrolled down to the bottom of my home page, you’ve most likely noticed my GoodReads tracker. I love that website. I have lost many hours to organizing my bookshelves, talking to people, hanging out in groups, and looking for new books to read. My TBR shelf got so ridiculous, I finally cleaned it out of all the books I know I’ll most likely never get too and any books that were below a 3.5% rating. With the exception of certain authors, that is.

Every year on GoodReads, they have a reading challenge. You enter in a number of books you want to read that year and if you hit it, you get a little badge that sits on your profile. I’ve been participating since 2009 (I think) and I’ve gotten a badge every year. This year, I’m updating how many books I want to read as I hit certain milestones. The first milestone is 30 books, the second will be 50. I should have started with 25 books and upped it by 25 each time, oh well.

Since my brain injury, one of the most difficult things for me to come to terms with is my inability to read at a decent pace and the fact that I get frustrated and put the book down. So, I jumped on the audiobook bandwagon and really haven’t looked back. I decided this year to break down the books I want to read into monthly categories. January and February were mostly free for alls – catching up on J.D. Robb’s In Death series, reading a few one-off’s that had been on my list for a while, and starting a couple of other new series.

  • March is going to be Michael Connelly – catching up on not only his Harry Bosch series, but also Mickey Haller, Jack McEvoy, and Terry McCaleb while waiting for his newest Bosch book to be released in November and his newest series to start in July. March is also Camp NaNo April prep. I’m hoping to get a good chunk done on the first draft of a script I’ve been wanting to write for a few years now.
  • April is going to be another misc month. Gaiman’s new book, Norse Mythology was released in February and I’m impatiently waiting for the audiobook. Then there’s Tana French’s series, Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol, and a bunch of one-offs. I also hope to get through some books sitting in the Audible queue. I most likely will be continuing Connelly as well.
  • May is going to be Books to Film month. The books will either be made into movies, tv shows, or mini-series. I even bought the High-Rise audio, the film with Tom Hiddleston. Hiddles reads the audiobook and he does an amazing job with audios. If you don’t believe me, you NEED to listen to him read The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner if you can find a copy of it.
  • June will be Jack Reacher month. As well as Camp NaNo July prep. I’m hoping to get a jump start on another writing project.
  • July is going to be “J” authors – J.K. Rowling/Robert Galbraith, Joe Abercrombie, J.D. Robb, Joe Hill, Jo Nesbo, Jay Asher. That should keep me busy for a few weeks at least. I may end up having to add more, even if they don’t begin with “J”.
  • I haven’t decided what I’m going to do for August, yet. It’ll probably be another dump month of just misc books I want to get through.
  • September is going to be Stephen King month. I know, I know, he really should be October, but October is reserved for Orson Scott Card.
  • November and December also have to be figured out, but it won’t be hard considering the size of my TBR list and a number of audiobooks I have to get through.

If you’ve made it this far down, you’re probably asking yourself “What books did you read this month?” Well, here ya go! Each link leads to a review. The list isn’t in any particular order.

